This week was pretty great, really, and I’ve taken some pictures to show you what delights me about living here.

Yesterday I went out with travelers from Israel, the US, New Zealand and two girls from France… and of course the conversation went to everyone’s favorite fixation: “Bashing America.” But switching modes from a predominantly Spanish world to an English one, I learned that I perceive the world very differently from lots of people.

For instance when I asked how was their experience of California, my new acquaintances noticed the politics, lack of gun control, how Americans ‘never’ traveled outside of their county much less the country, or how ‘superficial’ and ‘fake’ people from Los Angeles are–I’m from L.A.–because the museums didn’t have the depth of New York (to them.) And that San Francisco was “a city concentrated with freaks.” They kept quoting Michael Moore’s documentary 911, and Borat. And that’s mainly what they took away from their experience of the United States. It really was a whole conversation of surprises for me. I notice that even though people may inhabit and live in the same place and walk through the same areas (in the previous conversation California, but we can also extend it to Chiapas) somehow with the things we pay attention to…and with filters of things we don’t notice…it’s like living in parallel but separate universes. Our subjective worlds rarely touch.

Right now in San Cristobal there is heavy rain, and my mind wanders to the natural cycles and the weather that brought it here, to form puddles. They say that the amount of water on the planet is more or less constant. And perhaps sitting in front of a computer, I can wonder about semiconductors and how silicon is really only sand and brains…and if so, then why doesn’t Namibia have more glass or silicon factories! Or the symphonic process of how this notebook computer is assembled just-in-time. I find it very hard to be always critical or cynical about the world in which I exist…maybe sometimes, but then I notice the miracles. My new friends noticed that time goes on a slower pace and things “aren’t working,” “aren’t happening.” For me, things are buzzing all around me.

Totopo, El Cachorro | El Bosque | Cheery Chocolate Cupcakes

British Vogue Fashion | Walking Outside | My Burberry Tote With Flowers

Orange Blooms At Home | More Happy Cupcakes | Potted Foliage

Good Place To Chill & Read | Andador Arco de Carmen | Dinner Table

—-

I am the happiest man alive. I have that in me that can convert poverty to riches, adversity to prosperity, and I am more invulnerable than Achilles; fortune hath not one place to hit me.” Sir Thomas Brown, Religio Medici (1842)

The great source of both the misery and disorders of human life, seem to arise from over-rating the difference between one permanent situation and another… Some of those situations may, no doubt, deserve to be preferred over others; but none of them can deserve to be pursued with that passionate ardour which drives us to violate the rules of either prudence or of justice; or to corrupt the future tranquility of our minds, either by shame from the remembrance of our own foibles, or by remorse from the horror of our own injustice.” Adam Smith, The Theory of Moral Sentiments

Related: Psychology of Happiness (Watch Video)

Thanks Pete!

