I am melancholy now, and I took the cloudy day off to read news, to absorb, and to photograph the city and to reflect upon decisions I’ve got to make. Today, I’m translating articles into English about Mayan circular sense of time based on seasonality. Marcos works as a director, and also for the United Nations branch of Food and Agricultural Organization. And in the evening I’ll head back to the hotel talk to a few clients.

Our meeting with the executive from Cemex had been postponed since Venezuelan president Hugo Chavez expropriated the Mexican cement conglomerate from its country, of which a huge percentage of its market resides. Perhaps next week, dinner is possible, and I can ask more about their crisis.

When I dropped by Taller Leñateros today, the ambiance got stiff. Obviously somebody said something to everybody after I officially resigned. Tense joking. Working at Taller Leñateros remained difficult, because it is so straining to get everyone together as a team for the same strategy, and there were just so many illogical moves, even idiotic if you look at it from the perspective of business strategy. I am not sure given the current management we’ll ever reach sustainability, where revenue and costs balance. In any case, I’ll be writing more about some of the difficulties and strengths of Mayan culture trying to be as objective as possible. I feel an odd sense of betrayal exposing some of these issues, but in the end it would be a disservice to both the development field and also the indigenous Mayans if I were to sugarcoat or overlook things, (which admittedly I have) and pretend that indignation and anger doesn’t result when an organization attempts to make money based on values that it disposes internally. I will change personal names to keep this a neutral lesson.

Oftentimes, I look to the internet to find fuel for my energy, and today these were valuable to me:

Let It Be | The Beatles

Cuando tengo momentos de angustia
La madre Mary se acerca a mí
Diciendo sabias palabras: Déjalo estar
Y en mis horas de oscuridad
Ella se queda delante de mí
Diciendo sabias palabras: Déjalo estar
Déjalo estar, déjalo estar, déjalo estar, déjalo estar
Susurrando sabias palabras: Déjalo estar

Y cuando los desconsolados
Que viven en el mundo se pongan de acuerdo
Habrá una respuesta: Déjalo estar
Porque aunque vivan separados
Todavía hay una posibilidad de que puedan ver
Habrá una respuesta: Déjalo estar
Déjalo estar, déjalo estar, déjalo estar, déjalo estar
Susurrando sabias palabras: Déjalo estar
Déjalo estar, déjalo estar, déjalo estar, déjalo estar
Susurrando sabias palabras, déjalo estar

Y cuando la noche está nublada
Todavía hay una luz que brilla sobre mí
Que brilla hasta mañana: déjalo estar
Me despierto al sonido de la música
La madre María se acerca a mí
Diciendo sabias palabras: déjalo estar
Déjalo estar, déjalo estar, déjalo estar, déjalo estar
Habrá una respuesta: déjalo estar
Déjalo estar, déjalo estar, déjalo estar, déjalo estar
Susurrando sabias palabras: Déjalo estar

Life is like a bicycle. To prevent falling, you must keep moving.”–Albert Einstein

—-

Spanish Words of the Day: cartoncillo” compressed cardboard | “anunciar” herald | “quincenal” bimonthly, fortnightly | “remorder” to feel guilty | “recalcar” to stress, to emphasize

