Despite the torrential rain, Chiapas is so charming and wonderful sometimes, and I’m surrounded by such fascinating company, delightful things. I could live here.

The elegant candlelit evening menu was: long bean vinaigrette salad with sweet walnuts, aged cheese and cured meats selection, fetuccini in chipotle sauce, prime roast with seasonal vegetables, paired with goblets of red wine, a dessert of melty chocolate creme a la mode, and merengues, and hot chocolate and coffee for everyone. I introduced Claudia and Marcos to Lucía, Fernando and Lety at the Posada Real de Chiapas, where we dined at Traspatio with the moonlight glowing above… and I rediscovered how great it was to know photographers, chef-aficionados, fashion designers and international development consultants all as friends.

One of the most privileged aspects of working here, at least in my capacity, is the part of charming and getting to know everyone, and introducing them to one another. It’s ironic that as a young foreigner, I’m rather integrated into the community, connected with many of the hotel owners and managers as well as the clientele of our products, and when it gets beyond professionalism we plan dinners, picnics and short weekend trips from the beach to the jungle…and even discuss longer trips abroad. My friends in Mexico have worked in various parts of the world, and I am gladdened to find peers who are sophisticated and aware, but also very warm and tender and kind hearted.

Happy, so happy… all of us enjoying the night. I hope my friends from my own country will come visit me, so that I can take them to the villages and out to explore Chiapas highlands, a region with such immense natural resources and vast potential that it’s a bit disheartening to realize that the widespread poverty…pretty much comes from the lack of discipline and positive habits from the Mayan people themselves, and the rampant misuse/abuse/ of the riches they have. People tend to be very open and welcoming, though. I’d love to live here. (Actually working and getting things done, is another matter altogether.)

I look forward to visiting two indigenous communities in Tenejapa.

“Nature never did betray the heart that loved her.” William Wordsworth

—-

Tzotzil Words of the Day: “o’tanik” heart | “k’ayo” song | “akot” to dance | “zi’bujel” to write | “anze” woman | “beni” man | “kere” child | “olon” baby | “mol” elderly | “kay’ok” music | “k’uk” blouse

