Resplendent full moon glows over us tonight, and the midnight skies feel magical in its spaciousness. Imagine, a net of stars cast between resonating hills, a hillside view of the entire city of San Cristobal below. The abundant gardens outside bear fruit and flowers, and the Buddhist chanting is a form of therapy and transports me away to new places. We have a telescope to see the craters of the moon. (Even the noisy streets and the pressures of “making things happen” at work won’t diminish the tranquil elegance of this night.)

…In the new house I’ve moved to, in the hospitablethree-story home of Marcos Arana, there are simply so many contextual elements of a richly lived existence. We talk about Sudan, and the food there. He does development work here and helps marginalized communities in Southern Mexico, and that has taken him to so many parts of the world that I’ve never seen. My mind wanders far from Mexico and yet I am still here.

The lychee black teas lulls me gently back to Guangdong. The sesame oil and prepared mutton makes me yearn for the naan of Muslim Central Asia. Fragrant chai from India. There is a warm casserole of fragrant cilantro rice which almost could be from Mediterranean Greece, and we had a breakfast of goat cheese and apricot marmelade over pan frances. Then, strong aromas of heated beans in a woven canvas from somewhere in the Highlands, while carvings and tapestries from Sub-Sahara Africa reflect candlelight. Mmm, milky truffles and caramel flan.

Two nights ago, we went to Kinoki to watch the Beatles-inspired “Across the Universe” (A Traves El Universo, 2007)–one of those unforgettable movies that make cheerful for the rest of the evening.

It is with unfathomable privilege that I found myself somehow surrounded by the most welcoming, most fascinating people of a country. These Mexicans tell me about their experiences in Laos, Thailand, Argentina or Finland. Senses magnified. Mind expanded. Marcos has two daughters, Valentina and Amanda, and the one nearest my age is traveling to London today. Over some unusually decadent tamales with piquant habanero pepper, we brainstorm ways to support Mayan women’s health and I’m going to help write the grant proposals.

We need to raise an additional $60,000 pronto, and I am not bad at this sort of stuff. =)

You haven’t succeeded until you’ve got the bull-shikake kicked out of you.” Guy Kawasaki

