Being surrounded by azucenas (daylilies), helecho (fern fronds), and baskets full of musgo (moss) there’s almost as many plants in Taller Leñateros as there are in a garden, and I’ve gotten accustomed to the presence of their fragrance and beauty in my life. So plentiful they are, that in my hair, I have begun to pin florets of bougainvilleas, columbines, calendulas and lilies to accent my attire for the day.

Fig 1: Waking up every morning to the children’s room

Calendulas

Fig 2: Wild calendulas (butones de oro) outside my doorsteps

Day Lilies

Fig 3: Lilies in the garden

And then… it just occurred to me today that–oh my gosh!–in the so-called “First World” where I come from, florists are horrendously expensive! It should be a crime.

Some things ought to be free. $60+ for a measly dozen roses, $30 to send a bunch of calla lilies is just wrong…so many gorgeous long-stem flowers grow here that not only do they adorn my bedroom everyday, but owners think about paying money to have people get rid of them! As the Chinese saying goes, how can a nation call itself civilized when simple flowers that sprout out of the ground cost an arm and a leg?

Note to self: La Niña is here and we’ve had torrential rain. But today, with all the clouds, the sunset was radiant, dazzling red over the valley. Nothing was more beautiful at 7:45pm.

Por eso esperaba con la carita empapada
a que llegaras con rosas, con mil rosas para mí,
porque ya sabes que me encantan esas cosas
que no importa si es muy tonto, soy así.

